When the phone literally won’t ring…

Posted on

So I have the dumbest phone in the world. It is a Samsung Infuse and trust me, do not ever go near one. I have warrantied it 5 times in 2 years. Today of all days, when I was waiting on BIG news, the stupid phone stopped ringing and would only vibrate. After a day of carrying it with me to every bathroom break, every move I made more than two feet away from my desk and holding it in my hand while driving, my doctor finally called around 6 pm tonight.

Drum roll please…directly from the scan report: Negative exam. No evidence for residual functioning thyroid tissue or metastatic disease. Now I’ll pause for you to wooohooo, dance, fist pump, high five, or send me texts saying you told me so…

PAUSING

PAUSING

PAUSING

We do not know why my antibody level is elevated. We just know that my immune system is mad for some reason. There is a chance that something small (smaller than a peanut specifically) is trying to make a comeback and that is why my blood work has changed. The plan is to increase my thyroid hormone medication to essentially stunt anything that is trying to make a comeback and to repeat my labs in December. If the antibody level does not go down then he will repeat an ultrasound and see if I have any changes in the lymph nodes in my neck. As confusing as all that is and as unnecessarily complicated as this stupid cancer and the endocrine system are, this scare was just a scare and now I for real want to party!

Cancer sucks and yet I have been so blessed. Because I get to raise my kids and love my husband. I get to hang out with my crazy, supportive and loving family and friends. I have no surgeries and no more radiation in my near future. I can breath again, really breath again. Thank you for every prayer, every thought, every worry and every encouraging word. I love you all.

7 thoughts on “When the phone literally won’t ring…

    Kathy Kellogg said:
    November 12, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    GOD TRULY IS AMAZING! HE KNOWS YOU HAVE TONS OF WORK TO DO AND YOU ARE MY HERO!~ <3

      jannajones73 responded:
      November 12, 2013 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks Kat for all your support! Love you!

    Jeani Buckley said:
    November 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    TOLD YOU SO!! YAY!!!!! LETS PARTY!!!

      jannajones73 responded:
      November 12, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Let’s Party Jeani!! Love you!

    Becky Woods LaRavia said:
    November 13, 2013 at 9:20 am

    What an answer to prayer!!! Thank you for sharing the journey!

      jannajones73 responded:
      November 13, 2013 at 9:42 am

      Yes it is Becky and I am so thankful for every prayer. Thanks for reading!

    The Little Cancer That Could « My Heart's Monologue said:
    January 25, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    […] morning at 10:45 I was carrying my phone, that still does not ring, through the house when I felt it vibrate, looked down and saw, “private number.” It […]

Leave a Reply

